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Department of Driver Services (DDS) — COVID-19 Response

In-Person Services Limited to Commercial Drivers Only:

Beginning April 1, 2020, DDS began providing in-person services to commercial drivers only, by
appointment. Commercial drivers should visit the DDS website to schedule an appointment before
visiting a service center. All other drivers are being directed to the DDS website or DDS 2 GO Mobile
App for service.

Most Driver’s Licenses or IDs Will be Granted Automatic 120-Day Extensions:

If a driver’s license, ID, or permit expires between March 1, 2020, and June 30, 2020, a 120-day
extension will be granted. No action is required by the license holder. The extension will be mailed to
the address on file with DDS automatically, free of charge. Currently, 238,546 Georgians have received
or will receive the extension.

If a driver is new to the State of Georgia, they should retain the license from the state where it was
issued until in-person services are reinstated.

If a driver is flying with an expired license or ID, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) will
continue to accept expired licenses or IDs throughout the duration of the health emergency, as long as
the license or ID expired on or after March 1, 2020.

Deadlines Extended for License Suspensions:

Failure to Appear (FTA) license suspensions will be delayed an additional 60 days to account for court
closures. DUI license suspensions will be delayed an additional 90 days as well.

Reporting requirements for drivers with ignition interlock devices have been extended from every 30
days to every 60 days.

For more information, visit https://dds.georgia.gov/covid-19-emergency-services
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